One Man – One View

February 16, 2009

Fishing Stories Chapter 2 – The Crime of Bad Singing

Filed under: Family,sports,Uncategorized,Writing — onemanoneview @ 11:23 PM
Tags: ,

the-kentucky-headhunters

Tom and I were driving back from Maine where were were staying with our families and doing as much fishing as possible when we were able to escape the aforementioned families. We were in a good mood because we were on vacation, the weather was beautiful and for a moment we had not a care in the world. We were playing a tape, (yes a cassette tape), of the Kentucky Head Hunters while singing along like we were personally starring on the Grand Old Opry.

At that moment all was good with the world – at least up until the point where we saw the lights and heard the siren! What they heck? I didn’t think I was speeding as I sure wasn’t in a hurry. Either way Barney was approaching my door with an angry look on his face.

Handing over my license and registration I ask “Was I speeding sir?

He snaps back – “Why were you screaming at those girls?”

Now even on good days I have a look upon my face that screams clueless but on this day I perfected the face! “Err.. What girls officer?”

“The two girls that were crossing the street! Why were you two screaming at them?”

“Ahh- Officer all were were doing was singing to the Kentucky Head Hunters. We didn’t even see any girls.”

“What are the Kentucky Head Hunters?” Was his reply as he started to mirror my clueless facial expression.

In response I turn the cassette tape up loud to let the Barney hear a refrain or two of some down home country twang!

Barney’s face starts to blur between a state of confusion and disgust as he simply hands me back my credentials and just walks away. He jumps into his cruiser and drives off leaving us sitting there just looking at each other in disbelief!

Imagine if we had indeed gone to jail. Imagine if we had to call our wives and tell them that we needed bail money because we had been incarcerated for bad singing? They would have certainly believed it for they had heard us sing. We would still be there until this day.

1 Comment »

  1. You guys are so old it probably wasn’t a cassette tape, but an 8 track cartridge. Remember those? 🙂

    Comment by Candy — February 17, 2009 @ 10:58 PM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

