One Man – One View

February 1, 2009

It’s as bad as it can get!

Filed under: Family,religion,Uncategorized,Writing — onemanoneview @ 11:21 AM

Sometimes life comes at you hard. Sometimes life just keeps coming at you hard and just won’t stop. We’ve all been there and we’ve all been filled with despair and loneliness even when surrounded by those that love us.  Perhaps worse yet is when we witness the tragedy suffered by those most dear to us. Our absolute inability to make their pain cease makes their trial become our agony as well. Our minds scream out! Why me? Why them? Simply why?  To the untrained eye these tragedies can appear both random and nonsensical. There seems no logic and there seems no hope- or is there?

I can only speak to my own experience as to all others I am just a spectator. I can tell you with certainty that I am sometimes at my greatest level of comfort when it simply can’t seem to get any worse- because for me it simply can’t. For me this is as bad as it gets and the only possibility is that it gets better from here.  For me the toils and tribulations on this earth are truly fleeting indeed. In contrast the thought of spending eternity in heaven with God, with my friends and family of faith is the ultimate source of comfort to me. As I have faith I know beyond a doubt that which happens to me today, no matter the horrors, no matter the pain, is indeed as bad as it can get. While my trials may now seem insufferable and unending how long indeed do they really last when compared to eternity?

My sadness and my sorrow is most directed to those who don’t have a saving knowledge of Christ. For to those this life is as good as it can get. The best they have to look forward to is their earthly existence and yet so much of that is filled with disappointment and sadness. It is filled with times of great loneliness and despair. Even those who are rich in an earthly sense and devoid of apparent affliction will one day leave behind all that they treasure. They may be called to leave it today, tomorrow or a hundred years from now but they will assuredly leave it behind indeed.

In my experience I have been far more blessed than challenged. While at times I have faced great darkness here on earth the Lord has also always provided for my physical needs. The Lord has always provided me with a family that I love and that loves me. The Lord has also helped me sift through who are truly my friends  and those who were not.  The Lord has always been with me even when I refused to recognize that fact. I have never been alone in my trials for even a single moment.

The death of a loved one usually leads us to periods of deeper consideration. When my father in-law passed away a couple years ago we spent a few days in Florida for his funeral. It was a time to remember a man’s life and consider my own. Each night down there I fell asleep with my iPod playing the same song “I Can Only Imagine” by MercyMe. The song provided me with both a source of comfort and a source of hope. I am pasting the link below so that you might listen to it’s words and reflect upon your life asking the most important question:

For me is this life as bad as it gets. What about for you? Is this the worst you’ll experience or the best?

http://www.seeqpod.com/search/?plid=037f0a279c

2 Comments »

  1. God bless everyone of us.

    Comment by leafless — February 1, 2009 @ 1:01 PM | Reply

  2. that song is a great one…since ive been iraq i have listened to that on my ipod on numerous accasions!

    Comment by Janni — February 1, 2009 @ 11:51 AM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

