One Man – One View

January 25, 2009

Obama – The Week in Review!

Filed under: Family,politics,Uncategorized,Writing — onemanoneview @ 9:24 AM
Tags: , ,

As I stated in a previous post I want President Obama to succeed- I really do. It is to my benefit that he does, to the benefit of my two boys in the military and to the benefit of the entire country as well. As is frequently the case my desires and reality rarely meet. A full week has not even passed in the presidency of President Obama but it is already time for a review.

· Guantanamo Bay- As we all know this place was a dismal failure base upon the way we handled foreign Islamic terrorists who wanted to kill you and I. We were, at times, unduly rude to these poor guys many of whom were responsible for increasing the population of Arlington National Cemetery. The same men who would hide like cowards and detonate bombs in an attempt to kill my sons. These men are from the same groups of people who strap bombs to others and have them wade into crowds of civilians massacring them so their religious ideology can be broadcast to the world though carnage and intimidation- through pure fear. Guantanamo Bay was surely a failure of the Bush administration’s war on terror as evidenced by the number of American deaths at the hands of terrorists in this country since September 11th 2001.

Oh wait a minute- I just checked the math and maybe I am confused. As it turns out in over seven years not a single American has died in this country by the hands of an Islamic terrorist! How could that be with such failed policies of President George Bush? Must have been blind luck I suppose because as all of America knows George Bush is just a bumbling idiot right?

Well no worries ladies and gentlemen for President Obama is closing this shameful prison and from this point forward we are going to be treating these poor misunderstood oppressed terror suspects with dignity. As a matter of fact they may likely be released before long so they can bring the word of America’s “Change” back to their lands. It will only be a matter of time before we see these guys leading pro-American rallies in their countries while wearing Barack Obama t-shirts.

I certainly feel safer now as do my boys. How about you?

· Abortion – One of President Obama’s first decisions was to end a ban on federal funding for international groups that perform abortions or provide information on them. While I am generally against giving a lot of my tax money away to foreign countries this is an urgent need to overturn another terrible policy of George Bush. What could Bush have been thinking when he decided that out hard earned tax money shouldn’t be spent upon the marketing and executing of abortions in foreign lands? The poor people in these countries have as much of a right to kill their unborn children as we do in America right? Thankfully these foreign women will have as much of a chance to destroy their country’s futures as we do in the states. Thankfully Obama has gotten this country’s priorities back on track for the real threat to America isn’t the radical Islamic jihadists- it’s these darned unborn children in foreign lands!

Smaller but still crucial observations:

· Swearing in “do over” – Interesting that Obama allowed very little press coverage of this event that is very important to our country. Most telling was that in the absence of millions and millions he forgot to include a Bible in the ceremony. It is quite possible that he simply forgot his Bible on the desk.

· Press relations – wide coverage about President Obama becoming openly angry, laying his hands upon and chastising a member of the White House press core for doing what? Oh yeah… asking him a question that he didn’t like! I praise President Obama for letting the press know right up front that doing their job can get them in trouble. Especially if doing their job could possibly dim the halo of the anointed one.

Also it was widely reported that the only inauguration day interview that President Obama permitted was by a network that spent millions of dollars funding one of his inauguration balls. Such criticism heaped upon this president is truly absurd for if he were to give interviews to all of the media outlets who have provided him support over the last few months he wouldn’t have had time for a single dance with his beautiful first lady on that historic day!

· Censorship – President Obama chastised Republican leaders for listening to Rush Limbaugh stating that doing so will limit their abilities to work for “Change.” Am I ever glad that we finally have a President with the courage to tell our leaders what and whom they are allowed to listen to!

Indeed ladies and gentleman – “Change” has come to Washington. Congratulations as the majority of you have now gotten what you have asked for.

17 Comments »

  1. I may be ugly but you are fat and can lose weight with a diet………wait a minute…..that didn’t sound right…..

    Comment by Tom — February 17, 2009 @ 9:47 AM | Reply

  2. Tom,

    A mask wouldn’t be a bad idea either!

    Comment by onemanoneview — February 16, 2009 @ 5:22 PM | Reply

  3. I could use a wig.

    Comment by Tom — February 16, 2009 @ 5:19 PM | Reply

  4. Christian – Thank you. I do appreciate it, and all the more because you acknowledge the fact that I do have a differing opinion than yours and still continue to do what you do. THAT is what our country is about – unity amidst differing values and opinions. FYI Criticism and analysis of the current state of affairs is not verbally mocking. Our country needs better education, better healthcare, and less greed. Bottom line. That’s not mocking, that’s the truth.

    To chuckles #1 and #2: Again, why is speaking out about the fact that there ARE problems with our country SO UNPATRIOTIC? Can anyone answer this question without calling me a “yeller belly” or “French?”

    The whole reason the U.S. has become such a great place is because it is set up to accept self-criticism and adapt accordingly. Sometimes people disagree with the changes. Can’t please everyone! Are you fundamentalists? Maybe we should revert back to politics in the 1780s. The whigs were some chill-ass bros!!

    Comment by Anonymous — February 16, 2009 @ 4:53 PM | Reply

  5. Anonymous this lazy young adult has put in nearly five years in the military while under the age of 22 and despite your perception of most young adults myself and fellow brothers in arms will wake up tomorrow strap out boots to our feet and work to protect your freedom to verbally mock this wonderful country “courage cpnquers”

    Comment by christian — February 10, 2009 @ 12:38 AM | Reply

  6. I don’t know Tom, Anonymous just called you a “ho”: pretty ballsy for a Frenchman (or woman).

    Comment by Dave — February 4, 2009 @ 5:47 PM | Reply

  7. Hooooooo!

    Comment by Anonymous — February 3, 2009 @ 4:47 PM | Reply

  8. Anonymous, This proves you’re from France….running away from the fight!

    Comment by Tom — January 28, 2009 @ 9:00 AM | Reply

  9. When did I say I didn’t think America was great? In fact, I think I specifically said I think America is great. Like I said before, there are some things that need to be changed because they dont work.

    Who said I went to France? Who said I even like France? Is France Europe? I don’t recall mentioning France in my last response… anyway, the Europeans I met while travelling weren’t in Europe. Not even worth discussing.

    Good for you with your six figure job, it’s important to make a note of your salary in the argument to directly correlate it with how hard you think you work. I bet you don’t work Sundays either because you are so pious – you find time to get all your high-paying hard work done during the work week, the way god intended it. good for you! And congratulations on your vacation also, you deserve it.

    Church and state argument – what? What ridiculous history books do you read? Are they published by your church? Please please please stop with the ignorant comments, you almost sound delusional with that one. Historically would that even make any sense? So the pilgrims come over here to escape religious persecution from a King who imposes HIS view of religion on all of his people (the ultimate merger of church and state), then within 100 years set up a government founded upon religion, but in a stroke of brilliance they make sure that church and state are not the same entity, because they dont want government to ruin their religion? The country was founded on religious freedom, which is why church and state were separated – because a state affiliated with ANY church would mean that church has favor in government (and would eventually become the abomination the pilgrims fled from. How exactly does your explanation make any sense? I can’t believe I’m even re-explaining this basic tenet of American history to some so-called patriot. This is actually sad… stop seeing the world as you think it should be and start looking at reality.

    To the other anon – who said I sit around and complain about this stuff? two points here. I work a minimum of 70 hours a week, so there isnt a lot of sitting around to be done. secondly, who said I was a liberal? I’m a moderate. Just because I don’t agree with you on the four or five issues weve discussed here doesn’t mean I’m a liberal. Are you retarded? You just in one fell stroke exemplified the type of crappy partisan ideologies that are ruining this country. Then you say “I dont put people into groups” – really? How about “liberals.” “America is a group of the greatest minds the world has ever known…. except for liberals.” If you’re going to argue and pretend to sound intelligent, at least read over the stuff you write to make sure you dont contradict yourself in the next sentence.

    I am aware the pilgrims were protestants genius. Fortunately for this entire country, those protestants (and atheists alike) were able to look on their own experiences to form a nation in which no person would face religious persecution as they did – religious freedom for everyone, and no state-affiliated church. Why is this concept so hard to understand? Why is it SO hard to believe that a group of people would create something NOT IN THEIR LIKENESS?

    Either way, I’m glad to see that you both work so hard and let everyone know about it, as well as your glorious salary. I’m sure you’re worth every penny. As a “liberal”, I should also let you know, I lied about how much I work. I don’t actually work at all. I just sit around and smoke reefer all day, watch reruns of Jerry Springer and complain about how life isnt going my way. I collect unemployment and disability (I sprained my pinky on the job). I have nine kids, only 5 of which I pay child support for (well actually the state pays it). I also eat a LOT of Pizza because I’m always high, so I do thank your kids for working at Pizza Hut.

    I won’t be responding to this thread anymore, because I truly believe that you are so ignorant that the discussion has become a waste of time. I so sincerely hope that neither of you are ever elected or appointed to any public office in any city or town, ever. You seem like a couple of self-serving self-righteous jerkoffs who need to spend a little time seeing the rest of the world (and i don’t mean the outdoor yet-somehow-still-air-conditioned tiki bar at the crappy sanitized mega-resort you stay at on vacations) before commenting on it, or even your own country. Open your eyes – you are the reason this country sucks, not “liberals” like me. Oh by the way did I mention I’m a MODERATE?

    Comment by anonymous — January 28, 2009 @ 12:35 AM | Reply

  10. anonymous. thanks for the taking the time out of your day to write another lengthy note. we are all better for it.

    “a general lazy “do the bare minimum” attitude by most of our teens and young adults” which is exactly what liberalism preaches. it’s easy to be liberal, sit around complaining expecting everyone else to pay your way, complain that you aren’t further ahead than the next guy instead of doing something about it, looking to government for an answer to your problem. i bust my ass night and day paid my way through a 100k dollar education and will continue to do so for years to come. i have not and will not sit around complaining expecting someone else to pay my way. i take offense to those who say america is not the greatest country in the world. It’s our people that make it great and you know what they come from all walks of life and from every continent on the planet. I believe america is a collection of the greatest minds the world may ever know. I dont put people into groups. We are Americans..

    The pilgrims did not believe in some of the teachings of the catholic church. they were hard working protestants. there is a reason there is a saying “the work ethic of a protestant”… to say they were atheist just tosses their beliefs out the window. show some compassion, isn’t that what liberals believe… wait – assuming you aren’t a fetus 🙂

    Comment by 2 anonymouse — January 27, 2009 @ 11:16 AM | Reply

  11. Anonymous, Thanks for replying, A couple of points to mention.

    First of I would like to offer you some advice…if you think America is so bad why don’t you go back to France?

    Secondly, Although I’ve never been to any “really smart” European places I have been able to take some cookie cutter vacations because I got my own college scholarship and college loans and through hard work have a 6 figure paying job.

    Thirdly, My 2 grown kids work for Pizza Hut to help pay their way through college, you know “the jobs Americans don’t want”.

    Lastly, for a bunch of atheist founding fathers they really do mention God a lot in the documents this country is founded on, don’t you think? Oh and by the way if you read history, which I am sure you do being as you are such a brilliant person, the reason they wanted separation of church and state was TO KEEP THE STATE OUT OF THE CHURCH.

    Viva LA France!!!!

    Comment by Tom — January 27, 2009 @ 10:55 AM | Reply

  12. Tom – thanks for being mature in your discussing of these issues. It’s people like you who make it a pleasure to debate. We’re not the most powerful country in the world anymore for a number of reasons, only one of which would be the “weak stomached” people like me (i.e. those who disagree with you). Other reasons include:

    a general lazy “do the bare minimum” attitude by most of our teens and young adults (although our media and most commercials would have you believe that America is still the unified productive nation it was back in the 1940s. Yeah, the american dream, where some corporate d-bag takes home $100mil a year plus bonuses for making decisions which in two years time will bankrupt the company and cost stockholders millions. The American dream is SO perverted from what it originally stood for- now it sometimes seems it’s just an empty statement used by mortgage companies to try to get people to buy homes they can’t afford.)

    a disgraceful lack of education which DOES make itself evident when you place an average american in a conversation with an average european (especially about other cultures – but we live in an isolationist society lately, thanks to people like you who think America is the world, so there’s no need to know about other cultures right?) By the way, have you ever travelled to another country? I don’t mean Puerto Rico or Aruba to buy crappy trinkets on your cookie cutter vacation – I mean actually travel.

    the laissez-faire attitude about our immigration policy, which has brought an influx of people here illegally who do not pay taxes, and send most of their money home to their respective homelands. Also please note these people do the jobs that are now poo-pooed by american teens as “mcdonalds” jobs or “i would NEVER do that” jobs. We are SO above cleaning floors now. Oh, and I want an iPod… because I deserve it.

    Speaking of Mickey D’s – the fattening up of America. We are the fattest nation on earth – and other countries DO laugh at us. Besides, BK’s fries are better.

    the list goes on. I think America is a great place, but what makes it a not so great place is people who believe it is a great place just because of that simple fact. “we’re the best, because we’re the best.” No, we became the best because we had people in our country who gave a damn, worked hard, and worked TOGETHER, not insulting one another and engendering hatred toward those they disagree with. These days it seems you are either BLUE or RED, BLACK or WHITE, RIGHT or WRONG. There is no consensus, no common ground. Hence, we are losing our international prestige every day due to mindless bickering (much like this!). The sad thing is, people like you think I am unpatriotic for voicing issues I have with the way America currently is. Fortunately, people like you are wrong.

    Research your history. America was founded as a SECULAR NATION. Do you even know what the word means? It’s not a religion. Secular, my intelligent friend, means dissociated from religion. SEPARATION OF CHURCH AND STATE? Nearly all of the founding fathers were ATHEIST, it is a WELL KNOWN FACT. The PILGRIMS left england because of religious persecution – but the pilgrims did not draft the constitution. You’re talking around 100 years before America revolted against British rule. Don’t even argue about this, you just look foolish. Our founding fathers were by-and-large NOT religious, they just happened to be decent enough to accept those who were. End of story.

    To Dave – excellent point about the abortion. I’m not even being snide. It actually is a pretty good point.

    Candy – I agree with you only because I am sick of foreign aid money going out the door instead of staying here. But do some reasearch and you might find that your tax dollars are spent on far worse things than abortion…

    Anonymous – Your first point is… not even really worth talking about. It’s the same cable news garbage we heard for the past 18 months. Oh also, thanks for the pleasant comment about wishing I was aborted! How tolerant of you! You are all disgraceful, you can’t even argue without saying nasty things – it’s exactly why I laugh, because I can predict your petty childish responses to these points. More name calling. More “my idea is better than your idea IDIOT”, more of the same old crap. Thankfully there ARE some people with differing opinions from mine that I have friendly intelligent discussions with – it’s a good thing too, because if the only people I ever had to discuss this stuff with were people like you, I’d slowly become a petty childish fool too.

    Comment by Anonymous — January 27, 2009 @ 12:01 AM | Reply

  13. Anonymous… The constitution does say you have to be a natural born citizen to be president. Funny that he has yet to show his real birth certificate. What about the fact that his father was married to someone in kenya at the same time he married his mother here in the states. Under the LAW that makes that marriage null and void. all his team of lawyers have provided was a certificate of residency for Hawaii which is given to any and all that live there. You dont have to be born there to receive one.

    “Press Relations: Heard nothing of this. Interesting to see a chink in his armor though – he clearly makes great efforts to be composed at all times (as he should).” Chink in his armor? This guy has been censoring all media since he came onto the stage.

    it’s too bad you weren’t aborted – MORON 🙂

    Comment by 2 anonymous — January 26, 2009 @ 9:48 AM | Reply

  14. The problem with the abortion issue is that thanks to President Obama my tax dollars go to support something that I think is immoral. Even if one concedes that women have a “choice,” I now have no “choice” but to help pay for women all around the world to abort their babies.

    Comment by candy — January 25, 2009 @ 9:09 PM | Reply

  15. In regard to the abortion point, Anonymous, I have only this to say: if an evolutionist can tell me that life began as a single cell in a cosmic puddle, then why is it so hard to believe that life begins with a single fertilized cell in a woman’s body?

    As far as censorship, Mr. Obama’s rebuke is, in the least, a small step in a frightening direction. Goodbye 1st Amendment, hello Fairness Doctrine.

    Comment by Dave — January 25, 2009 @ 6:30 PM | Reply

  16. The way the terrorist were treated at Gitmo was a Bed and Breakfast Inn compared to other wars and other nations. Oh, and did I mention they are PRISONERS OF WAR…..not criminals. And Anonymous, we “USED” to be the most powerful country in the world but weak stomached people like you will ensure our defeat. America didn’t become powerful by hugging our enemies, unfortunately, sometimes, bad people need a punch in the mouth to get them to stop doing evil.

    Abortion? you are right, not worth arguing when you believe that a woman’s body can have 2 beating hearts.

    And lastly, “not everyone follows the Bible” . Our nation was founded by those who followed the Bible and it made us a great country. This country was not created “secular”, it was created to give people religious freedom you moron….oops, name calling is mean!!! my bad.

    Comment by Tom — January 25, 2009 @ 12:26 PM | Reply

  17. Gitmo: We are supposedly the most civilized and developed nation in the world. On paper, we adhere to things like the Geneva Convention, but not in practice. Being the most powerful country in the world does not give us the right to be a nation of hypocrites. Power used fairly and justly will keep us in power, using it any other way will eventually see the opposite result. Some of the nastiest murderers and scumbags in our country are still given due process. Why? Due process is what separates US from THEM. Without due process, the imprisonment and killing of people is nothing short of barbarism. At the very least, if we’re going to have an offshore prison where we torture people and don’t give them due process, could we keep it a SECRET? The entire world knows about Gitmo!

    Abortion: Not even worth arguing about, endless argument. The only thing I can say here is that we are a free country, and there should be no mandate on what a woman can do with her body. The typical response to this will be something along the lines of “abortion is murder.” Thus begins the classic argument of “when does a fetus change from a cluster of dividing cells to a person?” Who knows.

    Swearing-in: America was founded as a secular nation. The Constitution of the United States makes no mention of the use of a Bible in the taking of the oath, nor is it even required that the ceremony be public. Not everyone follows the bible.

    Press Relations: Heard nothing of this. Interesting to see a chink in his armor though – he clearly makes great efforts to be composed at all times (as he should).

    Censorship: Censorship is the act of actually supressing information. Telling people that the radio show they listen to isn’t a good choice is not censorship. In fact, that’s why America is great. I can tell you your favorite radio host sucks, and you can say the same to me. Limbaugh is a hypocrite drug addict anyway.

    Comment by Anonymous — January 25, 2009 @ 10:46 AM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

